Searcy County Chamber Wins the Bootstrap Award

Bootstrap award



We did it!  Our collective hard work was recognized at the state level!  Arkansas Parks & Tourism knows who we are!  Thank you to all our chamber members for your contribution of time and money!  Let’s keep our momentum going and let us reach for the sky!

The Greater Searcy County Chamber of Commerce is the winner of the Bootstrap Award in the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism Henry Awards!  The 2016 Henry Awards winners were revealed at the 42nd Annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism held in Springdale on March 15th. Chamber of Commerce President Darryl Treat accepted the award for the Chamber from Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson.  The Henry Awards honor Henri de Tonti, the man historians consider to be among the first “Arkansas Travelers.”  The Bootstrap Award is presented annually to an individual, organization, or community that has achieved significant success “on a shoestring,” having limited means to work with, either in resources or finances.  The Henry Awards Ceremony began at the 7th annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism in 1981 and has become an important part of this gathering of tourism leaders and one of the most prestigious tourism industry awards in Arkansas.

If I got the story correctly, Representative Kelley Linck said in his 15 years as being the Executive Director of the Ozark Mountain Region Tourism Association, we are the only Henry Awards winner from the Ozark Mountain Region!

Congratulations to all of us!  Well done!

I hope we can display our trophy one day soon in our office in the old jail.

Bootstrap award

Governors Conference 1 Governors Conference 2 Governors Conference 3 Governors conference 4